It’s official, this morning Microsoft released Internet Explorer 8 (IE8.)  If you’re looking for the download link, I suggest heading here: http://www.microsoftpost.com/?s=windows+internet+explorer+8 for the Download Link and all the Internet Explorer 8 goodness.  ;)   Packed full of new features and concepts I guess it’s time I finally install it on my primary box.   Update 3 pm PST: So I went ahead and upgraded my IE7 to IE8 on my main desktop which is running Windows Server 2008 x64 SP1.  The upgrade was relatively quick, and although it seemed at FIRST to have completed successfully, the first time I launched IE8 and tried to navigate to a site I received the following error message:

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library: Runtime Error! Program: c:\program files (x86)\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.  Please contact the application’s support team for more information.   Once I clicked OK, the browser would not go anywhere.  I was able to repro the Runtime Error! by opening up a new TAB also.  No errors in the event logs.  I went ahead and launched the 64-Bit IE8, and everything worked perfectly with no issues.  Long story short, I was able to Fix the problem by resetting the browser.  Not sure if this is a fix or just a workaround, but it worked for me.  If you’re interested, here’s what I did:   To Reset IE8:

In Internet Explorer 8, click Tools and then click Internet Options.Click the Advanced tab, and then click Reset. Follow any on-screen directions.Close and re-open Internet Explorer.

  Anyone else out there have these issues? Comment

Δ